Project Shine On

The red Notebook Indian fashion Blog UkToday I would like to introduce my latest venture – Project ‘Shine On’ #shineon.  I started The Red Notebook to share my love for good design and style. Along my journey I met so many beautiful women and every one of them had her own individual way of expressing their style. I drew a lot of inspiration from these everyday women and that in turn enriched my own personal style.

I was also lucky to be part of London Fashion Week this year and it made me realise that fashion is a crazy thing. I would like to believe that there are no rules. One thing that stayed with me was how important it is to create your individual style statement and not be dictated by fashion police. My belief was further fuelled by this inspiring video from Kalki Kochin where she talks about being free and being yourself. Through my blog I want to be able to inspire others and support them in creating their own individual styles. What I don’t want to do is dictate fashion rules. With this belief of mine I want to introduce my project  “Shine On’ #shineon, the purpose of this project is to work with real women and support them in fully expressing their self through fashion.

My idea of fashion is that it should be an expression of who you are and act as a platform for your creative expression. Project ‘Shine On’ will include a series of stories on everyday women who come in different shapes and sizes, fully expressing themselves through fashion. I would work with these women and support them in accessing fashion in their everyday lives. Fashion is not just for the elite ones or for the size zero magazine girls. Fashion belongs to everyone and with a little support you can truly embrace your style and be comfortable in your own skin.

Our very first story  

To launch this project I joined hands with my fellow Indian blogger friend Snigdha from Indian Beautie . We worked on this project together to create two looks for her that suit her lifestyle and she could carry off with confidence. Our trusted partner in this project was the supremely talented Bineeta Mitra who captured these beautiful moments in her lens.

It was great fun to work on this project together and I would like to believe that we achieved the purpose of this project.

Indian fashion blogger uk london

The red notebook blog Indian fashion blog uk London

IMG_1894

Indian fashion blog uk london
Look 1

What should I wear to work ? Snigda recently changed her job and wanted to create a no fuss look apt for her workplace. To create her new work wardrobe we decided to go with an evergreen polka dot dress. We kept the accessories minimal and teamed the outfit with a antique gold pearl bracelet. We added cute black shrug for layering along with a smart black bag and pointed black court shoes to complete the look. Polka dot print is a very timeless trend and never really goes out of fashion, ‘ ideal for ‘I have nothing to wear’ days.

Look 2

Indian fashion blog UK

Indian fashion blog UK
This is very casual spring day look ideal for your afternoon brunches. A printed trouser can be worn with your wardrobe basic like a white shirt or vest. The idea is to make one item of the look as the focus of the outfit and keep the rest basic.

Snigdha is  beauty blogger on Youtube  and fashion blogger on Indian Beautie  She strongly believes that anyone can look good with a dash of lipgloss, a gorgeous scarf and a smile with an attitude.

How can I get involved?

Do you want to have a bit of fashion fun or create a new look to suit your lifestyle? Then get in touch, I’ll support you in discovering your unique style.  No matter what your body shape or problem areas are, Project ‘Shine On’ will help you to truly embrace yourself and let you fully express yourself through fashion

To get involved in the project e-mail me at therednotebookblog@gmail.com  you can also contact me via my social channels here.

Facebook | Twitter

Look 1 | Dress – Dorothy Perkins | Shoes – Zara | Jewellery – Own collection

Look 2 | Trousers – Zara | Shoes – Zara | Top – Asos | Jacket – Own Collection

 

 

6 thoughts on “Project Shine On

  1. Mahala says:

    I LOVE the sound of this project. I’ve no idea what my style should be, but I know it’s in there somewhere!

Leave a comment